Claire: Udaipur

Udaipur was fabulous! The 7.5 hour train ride was long, but since it was during the daytime we could look out the window for entertainment.  Seeing the rural way of life out the window was refreshing—it showed me a new side to India. Wide open spaces, healthy animals, children running freely and safely, and less garbage. We spent our days in Udaipur people-watching and relaxing in cafes, visiting a temple, watching a Rajasthani cultural dance show, seeing the City Palace-the largest one in Rajasthan, and touring Lake Pichola by boat. One thing we didn’t expect, but loved, was the ongoing celebration for Lord Ganesh. There were lively parades, powder paint, blasting music, enormous Ganesh statues, fireworks, confetti, and dancing in the streets. It lasted all of Friday night and throughout the entire day Saturday. India knows how to throw a block party, that’s for sure.

Image    ImageImage    Image

Image     Image

We shopped of course, and I had a nice conversation with a friendly tailor at his shop while the other girls were trying on clothes. I asked how long he’d been sewing, how he got into sewing, who taught him, if he loved it, and such. He explained that because of the caste system he had to be a tailor just like his father and grandmother. He was happy though. The love for his work came across really well in the clothes he made. He’d been sewing professionally for 14 years; after 4 years of instruction. He told me about how he loved what he did and was very proud of his work. It was nice to have a conversation with a local shop owner without being nagged to buy something. I did however leave his shop with a very nice blouse for a very good price. The top was uniquely designed, beautiful, and will now remind me of the tailor and his love for what he does.

Image

 

Also, Indian pigeons don’t poop white- it’s diarrhea brown. I got a real good look when some landed on my shoulder… I thought it was a baby that was held out of a window to poop. Wrong. Pigeon.

One comment

  1. microhit

    I really doubt anyone is stopping that tailor from switching career or going to school. I am an Indian in India and have never heard anything like that! So weird! Most likely his father was a tailor and passed on the skills as a family tradition. And its a dying art, when people buying stuff from malls.

    Great blog btw, I stumbled on it while I was trying to assist an American colleague of mine! hehe

Leave a comment